Review: The Fifth Season

Hello, everyone who’s reading this.

I am so incredibly thrilled to finally kick off my Summer Reading 2017 reviews!  I know there’s been a lot of hype around this, and you’ve all had to wait a long time to FINALLY hear about what books by people of color I’ve been reading – sorry to take so long.  I’ve been writing so much lately – creating new stuff, revising old stuff, submitting short stories – and my reading and blogging have suffered a bit.

But never fear, the Summer Reading reviews are finally here.

And dear friends, let me tell you: I have a new obsession.

I kicked off this year’s reading list with some double-dipping – this one is also a Hugo Award winner.  And I could definitely see why from the beginning.

N.K Jemisin’s The Fifth Season is an amazing work of fiction.  The world that Jemisin creates sucks you in right away; it’s so unique and mysterious and compelling.  Seriously, I love the world of The Fifth Season – even now that I’ve finished the book, I still think about it nearly every day.

Jemisin_FifthSeason-TP
Y’all, this cover is gorgeous.  So much so that I went out and bought a copy for myself before I had even finished reading the library’s.

The characters, too – I don’t know if there was a single character that I really liked.  Maybe one.  But oh, were there some characters that I loved to hate.  Jemisin did a great job of giving each character intense flaws, while making you feel sorry for most of them even when they were intentionally making poor choices.  I often found myself frustrated that I was feeling sympathetic toward them – which I loved.  Her characters were deep, complex, and moving.

The Fifth Season is a book that you can easily get caught up in; I definitely did.  There were twists I didn’t see coming, and I could hardly contain myself after reading the last page – left hanging there, needing to know what would happen next.  So I got on my library’s website, put The Obelisk Gate on hold, and will be reading it VERY soon.  Very.

If you’re looking for a dark, magical, fascinating book, get your hands on The Fifth Season – and be prepared to seek out its sequel right away.

Next up on my Summer Reading list:

  • The Untamed State by Roxane Gay
  • The Obelisk Gate by N.K Jemisin (surprise, surprise)
  • The Three-Body Problem by Cixin Liu

 

Leave a Reply

