Review: Gray Widow’s Web

Hey all.

I know it’s technically Summer Reading 2017, but I’ve got something exciting to share before I dive into reviews of the amazing books I’ve been reading from that list.

Today, I get the absolute privilege of helping kick off Dan Jolley’s blog tour for his newest release, Gray Widow’s Web.  You guys might remember last summer when I had the joy of sharing Gray Widow’s Walk with you.  Well, let me just start out this review by saying the sequel is amazing and somehow better than the first book.

If you’ve been around the blog for a while, you know I’m pretty skeptical of sequels.  Ever since I started the Gray Widow series, I’ve been eager and patiently (most of the time) waiting for the next book – and it did not disappoint.

[Also, I feel obliged to say that there will be some SPOILERS in this review.  I’ll keep them to a minimum, but I get really sensitive of the fact that even mentioning a character’s name from a sequel means they didn’t die in the first book…  So if you haven’t read Gray Widow’s Walk, and you want to read it completely cold, stop reading this review RIGHT. NOW.]

Ok, now that that’s out of the way:

Grey Widow's Web_Final_1200X800

Gray Widow’s Web takes the world and foundation that Jolley built in book one and wonderfully expands it.  We get to meet some new characters – most of whom I love – and we get to learn much more about Janey and other familiar faces.  Which mostly involved me rolling my eyes at Nathan and swooning over Tim.  Oh, Tim.  So swoon-worthy in a guy-next-door kind of way (the best kind).  (Also, I was just going to type an apology to my husband for the swooning and realized that Tim kind of reminds me of my husband… a lot… that’s too weird to think about right now.  Moving on.)

In this sequel, Mr. Jolley REALLY ups the ante.  Book one dealt with a fairly small cast, and events had relatively small consequences.  Not so for book two.  At all.  Things got really big, really quickly, and it was amazing.  He zooms out, giving an exciting view of the bigger picture, paving the way for what I’m sure will be an awesome book three.  Not only that, Jolley somehow managed to out-creep the ultra-creepy Simon Grove from book one with a new villain who is somehow even more horrible and fear-inducing.  Aphrodite Lupo, you are the stuff of nightmares.

Side note: there was also a scene where I felt like my heart was ripped out of my chest.  After finishing the book, I’m sad to report that my heart is not mended and apparently won’t be until book three because certain things between certain people that I care a lot about are not neatly wrapped up in a nice little package.  I’m not bitter; I promise.

While I obviously am quite attached to the characters of Gray Widow’s Web, the thing that really struck me while reading this book was the story.  The plot is fast and tight and kept me on the edge of my seat.  There was no fluff, no wasted words, no unnecessary scenes.  It was clean, cohesive, easy, and enjoyable to read.

Bottom line, friends: Dan Jolley can freaking write.

And the best part?  He writes the kind of stuff that I absolutely love to read.

If you haven’t had a chance to read Gray Widow’s Walk, do it.  Book one is amazing, and book two is even more so.  You’ll be rooting for the hero, hissing at the villain, and slightly drawn to but also afraid to look up at the stars.  Don’t worry – you won’t regret it.

 

Here’s a little more info about Dan if you’re interested:

DanJolleyPhoto

Dan Jolley started writing professionally at age nineteen. Beginning in comic books, he soon branched out into original novels, licensed-property novels, children’s books, and video games. His twenty-six-year career includes the YA sci-fi/espionage trilogy Alex Unlimited; the award-winning comic book mini-series Obergeist; the Eisner Award-nominated comic book mini-series JSA: The Liberty Files; and the Transformers video games War for Cybertron and Fall of Cybertron. Dan was co-writer of the world-wide-bestselling zombie/parkour game Dying Light, and is the author of the Middle Grade Urban Fantasy novel series Five Elements. Dan lives somewhere in the northwest Georgia foothills with his wife Tracy and a handful of largely inert cats.

Learn more about Dan by visiting his website, http://www.danjolley.com, and follow him on Twitter @_DanJolley.

 

Want to check out more stops on the blog tour:

7/19/17            I Smell Sheep – Top Ten’s List

7/20/17            SpecMusicMuse – Author’s Interview

7/21/17            Sapphyria’s Book Reviews – Top Ten’s List

7/22/17            http://bookishlyme.blogspot.com/ – Review

7/22/17            The Seventh Star Blog  – Author’s Interview

7/22/17            StoreyBook Reviews  – Guest Post

7/23/17            Sheila’s Guests and Reviews – Guest Post

7/24/17            Infamous Scribbler  – Author’s Interview

7/25/17            Beauty in Ruins  – Guest Post

7/26/17            Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Mystery and More! –  Author Interview

7/26/17            Jeni’s Bookshelf, Reviews, Swag, and More! – Review

 

**This eBook was provided to me in exchange for an honest review; no compensation was provided.

Leave a Reply

