Review: Within the Sanctuary of Wings

Hey, friends!

So you know how I was planning on being all caught up and posting regularly again?  Welp, I obviously haven’t been.  But there’s exciting reason for that:

I’M WRITING AGAIN.

As you might remember, I’ve been in a bit of a slump since November, but I’ve suddenly got ideas and motivation galore.  But more on that in my next post…

Because right now, we’re here to talk about the fifth and last book in the Natural History of Dragons series by Marie Brennan.

If you remember from a previous post, I’ve been looking forward to this book FOR A LONG TIME.  I fell hard for the series a few years ago when a friend lent me book one, and with much sadness, the series is now over for me.

But let me tell you about book 5.

Within the Sanctuary of Wings starts out similarly to books 1-4.  Lady Trent hears of a new dragon-related thing to investigate and has to figure out how to do so.  After a few chapters, I was settling in nice and cozy for another adventure.

And then, things got crazy.  I was sitting in bed reading, looked over to my husband, and said, “I did not see that coming.  At all.”  For real.

Obviously, this is the last book in the series, so something big had to happen.  But still.  THIS.  WAS.  BIG.

Anyway, the rest of the book is kind of typical style-wise, with Lady Trent doing her naturalist thing in the awesomest of ways.  The writing is engaging and consistent, the characters are lovable and diverse, the pace is REALLY good (which I couldn’t say for the… second book, I think it was?), and the dragons are cool – this coming from a person who doesn’t really like dragons all that much…  I know, I know, they ARE cool, but I’m more of a science person than a fantasy person…  whatever.  I like the dragons in these books.  A lot.

When I finished the last chapter, I gotta admit: I cried.  I was so sad that the series was over.  This unexpected wonderful thing in my life, this series full of science and feminism and relationships and growth.  It’s over, and I’m sad that there aren’t more stories to tell.

However, the ending is satisfying.  The story is over, and Brennan did a great job of wrapping it, of not stringing things out, of ending it where it should be ended.  I appreciate that so much.

So… A Natural History of Dragons series is over for me.  But I really, REALLY hope that it isn’t for you yet.  Go check out book one!  It’s fun, accessible, light fantasy that will make you laugh and cry and want to go out and observe every living creature you come across.  And maybe look for dragons while you’re at it.

Leave a Reply

