Review: Shards of Honor

It’s another Vorkosigan review (and sadly, the last one till the fall)!  I went back in time a bit after finishing the short stories in Borders of Infinityand checked out where it all began – or at least where Miles began.  I’ll get to Falling Free (which takes place about 200 years before Miles was born) eventually.

Anyway, Shards of Honor by Lois McMaster Bujold was an absolute gem.  It tells the story of how Cordelia Naismith and Aral Vorkosigan (Miles’ parents) met and eventually got married.  I don’t know if I’ve told you this, but I’m absolutely a helpless romantic.  So I loved that aspect of the book.  But there was so much more to love than that.

Getting to know Cordelia and Aral more deeply was so much more than I was hoping for.  I love Cordelia in the books that I’ve read, but she’s been a very minor character so far.  It was fun to get to know her better; I like her even more now.  Miles’ father, Aral, was such a joy to get better acquainted with, too.  And we got to see more backstory on Bothari, who I’ve both loved and despised.  All of this puts so much of what happens in later books in perspective – or at least gives more depth to future events.

Apart from getting more history on these characters, the plot was fun – as if I’d expect anything less from Bujold.  I wasn’t expecting the story to take place over months, but Bujold pulled that off well.

Overall, this was another great Vorkosigan book.  Not my favorite, but not my least favorite either.  It drew me in and kept me invested the entire time.  Check it out if you’re looking for really great yet accessible science fiction.  And if you’ve never read any Vorkosigan works, Shards of Honor is one of the great places to start!

Leave a Reply

