Review: Borders of Infinity

Well, well, well.  Look who’s behind on the blog posts she promised y’all.  I’m not going to apologize yet again.  But I am going to get caught up.  Mostly because I’ll be on vacation next week…  So it’s now or never, folks.

Anyway, I just finished Borders of Infinity, a collection of Vorkosigan short stories/novellas (I never remember the difference, and I don’t care enough to look it up right now). Technically, this is kind of a review x 4 since I plan on sharing my thoughts on each of the stories in the book, but that seemed silly to put in the blog title… I don’t even know why, but I made that choice, and I’m sticking to it.

So without further adieu, I give you my reviews of the stories found in Borders of Infinity by Lois McMaster Bujold.

“The Mountains of Mourning”

  • I read this last year, so you can check out the link above for that review.

 

“Labyrinth”

  • This short work was really enjoyable for me.  I was skeptical when I saw the cover and during the first few pages (A soldier created using human and animal DNA?  F’real?), but it turned out to be really good.  Bujold has a way of weaving action and heart-breaking moments together seamlessly.  We get to meet a new character (who I hope returns!), and we get to see a side of Miles that we haven’t seen before.  I don’t want to spoil it, so I won’t say in what way 🙂  Overall, this was a great short story – the plot was good, the characters were developed, and it fits well in the overall Vorkosigan timeline.

 

“The Borders of Infinity”

  • My friend (surprisingly not the friend who introduced me to Bujold’s books but who has shared SO MANY other great authors with me!) says that Bujold really hits her stride at the novella length, and after reading “Mountains of Mourning” and “Labyrinth”, I agreed.  And then I read “The Borders of Infinity”, and HOLY CRAP, YES SHE DOES.  This story wrecked me.  Seriously.  It was essentially a bottle episode, but there was so much depth to each of the characters and so much tension in their situation that I didn’t really notice at first.  Miles has gone through some difficult things thus far, but I wouldn’t be surprised if the things that happen in “The Borders of Infinity” affect him deeply for the rest of his life.  The last few pages have been haunting me since I finished.  Seriously, this is one of my absolute favorites.

 

Borders of Infinity

  • There are 4 very brief chapters that seek to frame the three short stories in the volume.  Not much to say about them – they don’t really do much other than give a platform for Miles to tell his adventures and give us a little update on what he’s doing between Cetaganda and Brothers in Arms.  But we do get some more screen time with Simon Illyan, and you all (might) know that I really like him.  So I’m a fan.  I’m enjoyed the frame story, but it’s definitely not necessary.

 

Now that I’ve wrapped up those stories, I’m excited to step back in time a bit and check out Shards of Honor and Barrayar.  I’ll let you know what I think of those soon!

Leave a Reply

