Review: Cetaganda

Welp, friends.  I’m sad to say that I’m still behind on posting reviews…  I just keep reading (which isn’t sad at all) and doing other stuff (working, running, writing, the Whole30 – none of which are sad either).  So maybe I’m not that sad?  But I do wish I wasn’t behind in sharing with you all the awesome things I’ve been reading.  So here’s a review of Cetaganda by Lois McMaster Bujold, because baby steps to get back on track still make progress.

As you might know, I was a little late to the Vorkosigan Saga party, but now that I’m here, I’m living it up and loving it.  So far, I’ve only read a few of them, but I currently have a few more checked out from library 🙂  (If you want, check out my reviews of The Warrior’s Apprentice, “Mountains of Mourning”, and The Vor Game.

As with her other books, Bujold does a great job with Cetaganda.  Miles Vorkosigan has another somewhat ridiculous adventure, and Bujold is a master of weaving mystery and mayhem into a fun believable tale.   (Confession: I didn’t come up with “mystery and mayhem” myself.  Cetaganda appears in Miles, Mystery, and Mayhem which collects 3 Vorkosigan stories into one volume.  But hey, why fix something that’s not broken, am I right?)

Miles is older and supposedly wiser than when we last saw him in The Vor Game.  We get to see some of that developed character first hand, and we get to see even more growth in him in this story.  We also get to know his cousin Ivan on a deeper level.  The two of them together are so different, and the hilarity that ensues during their adventures (or mis-adventures is probably more accurate) is definitely entertaining.

I loved getting to see the Cetagandan culture more closely as well.  I have a definite weak spot of alien societies and cultures in my science fiction, and I’ve really enjoyed what Bujold has done so far in her Vorkosigan Saga.  I’m excited to see what else she does in the coming books.  I was particularly fascinated by the Cetaganda use of genetics and how it plays a huge role in their social hierarchy.  You’ll have to read it to see what I’m taking about – I absolutely refuse to give anything away about it.

Next up for me in the Vorkosigan Saga is Ethan of Athos, which from what I heard deviates a bit from the rest of the books.  After that I plan to read “Labyrinth” and “Borders of Infinity”, but then I plan to go back in time a bit and check out Shards of Honor, “Aftermaths”, and Barrayar.  I can’t wait to get to know Miles’ parents a bit better and get more backstory on what caused his genetic mutations!

So that’s what you have to look forward to review-wise, as well as a few more Hugo award winning novels and some Old Kingdom books!  Oh yeah, and some non-fiction.   Pfewww.

Leave a Reply

