Review: Abhorsen

Hey, friends!  Sorry it’s been 2 weeks since I’ve shared a review with you.  It’s been busy – not busier than normal per se but busy.  Two weeks ago, my husband and I decided to do the Whole30 – an eating program that involves eating only fruits, vegetables, meat, eggs, and nuts (and a few other things) for 30 days.  The past two weeks have been good and hard and have been full of tons of meal prep since we’re not eating out, not eating processed foods, and are cooking all of our own stuff.  I’ll let you know how it goes in a few more weeks – and of course, I read a couple of the Whole30 books, so I’ll have reviews for you in the future as well 🙂

Anyway, I finally finished book 3 in the Old Kingdom series!  If you haven’t already, check out my reviews of Sabriel and Lirael.  If you want to.

So.  Abhorsen.  I know I’ve mentioned this before, but it’s really hard for me to review series because I’m nervous to spoil book 1 by talking about what happens in books 2, 3, and so on.  But I’ll give it my best shot for y’all.

The “final” book in the Old Kingdom series (which wasn’t ACTUALLY the final book but for a long time we thought it was.  In this case, a long time means about 10 years because that was how long it took between Abhorsen and Clariel, the prequel to the series.  Then a few years later – in 2016 – Goldenhand came out.  I’ve never read Clariel or Goldenhand but plan on doing so soon.  Alright, enough about that…) wraps up the story that began in Lirael.  Here are my non-spoil-y thoughts.

Abhorsen was an amazing finish to the story from book 2.  It wrapped everything up really nicely, picking up right where Lirael left off.  And while Lirael didn’t end on a cliffhanger, it did end with a slight lull in the action – the calm before the storm, if you will.  And I must say, Abhorsen was quite the storm.  I felt like it was full of action, suspense, and intensity from start to finish.

We got to see characters triumph, characters fall, characters finally reveal which side they were on, and characters sacrifice themselves.  As usual, I ugly cried at the end.  It was rough and amazing and powerful.

Garth Nix gave us so much more backstory and detail to this incredible world that he created in the Old Kingdom series, and it was incredibly rich, realistic, and easy to get lost in like I’ve mentioned before.

I’m also excited because something was hinted at in Abhorsen that I’d either forgotten or hadn’t noticed when I was 13ish that I think is fleshed out in the prequel that came out 10 years after the original trilogy.  Meaning I can’t wait to read Clariel now because I HAVE TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENED.

The only negative thing that I would have to say was that Lirael and Abhorsen could have been just one book in my opinion.  I felt like there were some things in Lirael that weren’t super necessary, as well as some things in Abhorsen.  These things slowed the books down for me a little bit but not enough to be detrimental.  So don’t you worry about that.  Forget I said anything and go read this series.  Please.  It’s such a gem.

 

Leave a Reply

