Review: Double Star

Friends, I’m still trying to read all the Hugo Award Winning winners for best novel, and I will be for the next few years.  Well, I will be forever, since there’s likely to be a new one each year.  But right now, I’m trying to get caught up on past ones.  I’m currently at 11 read, so I have 54 to go… bof.

Anyway, I recently got my hands on Double Star by Robert Heinlein.  Heinlein has won the Hugo for best novel 4 times – I think he’s tied for the most?  Or he technically has the most if you count Retro Hugos?  Anyway… not important to this discussion.  Heinlein has won many times, but Double Star was his first.  Here are my thoughts.

Double Star was pretty classic pulp fiction.  When I think of sci-fi from the late 50’s/early 60’s this type of story is what comes to mind.  It’s a romp, with an unlikely crew of people thrown together in unlikely circumstances.  The plot could have taken place in any society or culture, really, but aliens were thrown in for an extra level of mayhem.

It was a fun, quick read that didn’t require much thought at all.  The end was pretty predictable, and even though I didn’t love any of the characters, I finished Double Star with a pretty good impression.  I’d say my view of Robert Heinlein (which was really high after The Moon is a Harsh Mistress and was lowered by Starship Troopers) was redeemed a bit.  I’m excited to read his other works.

Leave a Reply

