Review: The Vor Game

Remember my quest to eventually read all the Hugo Award winning novels?  Well the next stop on that train was the The Vor Game, the sequel to The Warrior’s Apprentice that I read last summer.

I was much more prepared for this book, unlike The Warrior’s Apprentice which I’d never even heard of before it was gifted to me, which left me skeptical.  But after loving my first Lois McMaster Bujold experience, I was excited so check out more.

The Vor Game delivered.  It was fun, full of adventure and mystery.  The story takes place a few years after The Warrior’s Apprentice, so we get to see a slightly more mature Miles – which I love.  He still has a lot to learn, but he’s grown.  He still makes mistakes, but they’re not the same ones he made when he was younger.

We get to see a few of the same characters from the first book, but we also get to meet new characters.  I personally am a big fan of Gregor and Simon.  Here’s to hoping they’re in the subsequent books in some capacity!

Overall, The Vor Game met my expectations.  It made me laugh and made my heart ache; it easily held my interest and was often hard to put down.  It was believable and imaginative – just great science fiction.

I’m definitely looking forward to the next novel in the series, Cetaganda!  I’ll let you know what I think of that one as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

