Review: Sabriel

Ohhhhhhh, friends.  Oh, friends.

As you may have read, I was gifted the first three books from the Old Kingdom series by Garth Nix for my birthday because my husband pays attentions, remembers, and knows me oh so well.  I could hardly wait to dive into Sabriel, which I haven’t read since I was 13 or so.

I devoured it.  Sabriel completely sucked me in, and though I’d read it before, nearly everything felt new to me this time (thanks 14 years…).

Garth Nix is a master at creating a fantastical world that feels completely real.  The magic that happens feels so believable and effortless – perfect for me who doesn’t LOVE fantasy.  I was instantly drawn into the story by the mysterious prologue, especially juxtaposed with the seemingly normal first chapter (it didn’t stay that way for long).

The world that he built was complex and fascinating, but Garth Nix didn’t let his writing get bogged down with too much detail and background.  Sabriel is fast-paced, tense, and an easy read; it’ll have you begging to read just one more chapter before you have to hit the lights for bed.  Add wonderful characters to the mix, and you have quite the young adult fantasy gem.  I can’t wait to read its sequel, Lirael!

Leave a Reply

