Birthday Books

Somehow I missed my birthday.  Not in real life; plenty of celebrating happened.  But in blog-life, I just kind of skipped over it.

So, three weeks late, I want to share with you the books that I got for my birthday:

  • Sabriel by Garth Nix
  • Lirael by Garth Nix
  • Abhorsen by Garth Nix
  • Love, Lies, and Clones by Joynell Schultz
  • Self-Editing for Fiction Writers by Renni Browne and Dave King

My husband, being the book-loving, intentional, and thoughtful man that he is, has been looking for the Old Kingdom boxed set for months, and he finally found it.  I’ve mentioned these books to him a time or two (I read them when I was younger and loved them), and he’s been planning on getting them for me ever since.  I can’t wait to read them again!

Also, I have a tradition with the 10-year-old girl that I mentor: on the Wednesday between our birthdays, we go to a used book store and each pick out a book to buy.  She just discovered The Series of Unfortunate Events, and happily picked out book 1.  I found a compilation of old science fiction short stories.  🙂  I love this tradition, and I hope we continue it for years to come.

Do you have any fun birthday traditions?

Leave a Reply

