Review: Children of the Mind

Welp, through lots and lots of tears, I finished the Ender Saga.  There are still plenty of books in the Enderverse, but the story doesn’t continue after this one… so far.  Orson Scott Card has said that he’ll connect back to the Ender Saga with Shadows Alive, but as far as I’ve heard, there’s no date on that.

Children of the Mind blew me away.  I loved each and every storyline, though some more than others for sure.  It was a great next step and conclusion to (most of) what was set up in the rest of the series, and while Xenocide was very similar to Speaker for the DeadChildren was incredibly different – in great ways.

As usual, I don’t want to spoil too much — but to completely share my thoughts, I’m going to have to spoil some things.  So here are my non-spoiling thoughts:

Children of the Mind explored some fascinating topics, just like the other books in the series.  It dove into guilt, self-perception, souls, politics, and love.  And when I say dove in, I mean head-first, no holds barred, giving-it-all-you’ve-got dove.  It was thought-provoking, challenging, and made me uncomfortable in all the best ways.

Here’s your warning though: if you haven’t read it and don’t want things to be spoiled, quit reading right now.

 

Here’s another warning for good measure: there are some spoilers below.

 

Ok.  My conscience is clear.

 

More thoughts: I absolutely LOVED Young Val.  I drank up every single word of the scenes that she was in, whether she was interacting with Miro, wrestling with Jane, or being awkward around Old Val (who I also love fiercely).

I thought that Ender being split between his own body, Young Val, and Peter was awesome, and the fact that he had to end up entirely in Peter was genius.  The Jane/Young Val combo was stellar.  And of course, being the Novinha fan that I am, seeing her wrestle with letting Ender go shook me to the core.

And one last thought: I NEED TO KNOW MORE ABOUT THE DESCOLADORES.

Which is why I really hope that Shadows Alive comes out soon and that it tells me more about them.

 

After finishing Children of the Mind, I turned to my husband and told him that Speaker for the Dead was PROBABLY still my favorite book.  He was shocked, I was shocked, and I’m still pretty uncertain.  All I know for now is that Children was amazing.  Absolutely amazing.

Leave a Reply

