Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Per usual, I’m a little late to the game on this one.  But hey, I didn’t read past The Prisoner of Azkaban until I was 22…  So at least I’m not THAT late.

I really enjoyed reading Harry Potter and the Cursed Child.  It was a fun adventure featuring the next generation of Hogwarts students, which was refreshing in a way.  We got to meet new characters, as well as spend a bit of time with the old beloved ones (and those we hated, too…).

The plot itself was a touch unbelievable at times, but hey, I’d say the same for all 7 HP books.  It didn’t make it any less enjoyable for me, and while some of the things that happened were a bit unlikely from my perspective, I also didn’t see any gaping plot holes.  Though maybe some did?  Now I’m curious, but I’m fighting the urge to google that.

Anyway, I don’t want to give too much away, but let me just say that as far as characters go I LOVED Scorpius, Albus was ok, and Harry was annoying (but he was in all of the other books, too, so it was consistent).

It was fun to see how the wizarding world had evolved after 25ish years, both for the good and the bad.

And just as a warning: there were some definite big-emotion moments for me.  I’m not saying tears, but I’m not not saying tears either.  I’ll just leave it at that.

Have you read Cursed Child yet?  If so what did you think?

Leave a Reply

