Novodah’s Myth

Hey all!

Like I reported in my previous post, I’m currently working on writing Novodah’s Myth, the sequel to the novel I’m also currently revising, The Legend of Elliot Major.  (I’ve yet to decide which I’m going to spend the majority of my time doing – I want to avoid half-assing both of them.  But I do know that these two novels will likely take up the majority of 2017.)

Anyway, I wanted to give you some details about this lovely sequel.  IF YOU DON’T WANT SPOILERS FOR THE LEGEND OF ELLIOT MAJOR THEN YOU BETTER STOP READING RIGHT NOW.  Per usual, I’ll do my best to keep spoilers at a minimum, but it’s a sequel – even just seeing some of the characters, you’ll realize that so-and-so didn’t die, what’s-his-name isn’t mentioned, oh-my-gosh-they-… I had to stop because I almost spoiled something specific.

So: read no further if you want to go into Elliot Major completely cold.

 

Ok.

Novodah’s Myth picks up just a couple weeks after The Legend of Elliot Major left off.  Jaina, a Dianian medic at Outpost #4 on the icy planet, Tabor, has been sent a new patient: one whose Memory Guard Chip has malfunctioned.  MGC cases are rare, and Jaina’s no expert, but she’s determined to do all that she can for the soldier.

Jaina has her own mess of problems, though.  Every winter, many of the humans on Tabor are afflicted by a flu-like virus, and this year’s seems to be the worst in the history of the colony.  The medical outpost is overwhelmed with patients with little that they can do for most of them.

In the midst of all this, Novodah – Jaina’s half-Dianian, half-human daughter – shows up after not having spoken to her mother in three years.  Dianians aren’t raised by their biological parents, so Jaina has no idea what she’s doing, but she desperately tries to mend that relationship after years of heartache.

While she fights to balance it all, the situation takes an unexpected turn.  The soldier she’s working with doesn’t seem to have random memory loss at all – his inaccessible memories seem to follow a very specific pattern.  Did someone make his MGC malfunction on purpose?  But if it supposedly happened when he crash-landed on an abandoned colony with a bizarre electromagnetic field, was his crash intentional?  And was it only for MGC care that he was sent to Tabor, where humans are falling to the disease left and right and none of the medicines seem to be working?

Is the Accord of Menn really the benevolent intergalactic organization that it seems to be?

 

I still have a good chunk of it to write; I’m probably two-thirds done.  But I’m loving it so far!

Have you ever written a sequel?  What was that like for you?

Leave a Reply

