Summer Reading Reflection

Welp, it’s September.  As of the 1st of the month, summer reading was over.  If you’re new to my blog, let me fill you in: each summer, my reading list has a theme.  Past themes have been Star Trek books, fantasy books, books I’ve been intending to read, and Hugo Award winning novels.  Summer Reading 2016 featured books that I already own that I’ve never read before.  While at times that felt very limiting, I discovered some absolute gems.

I could just re-link you to all the reviews, but that’s boring.  So instead, I’m going to share:

The 3 Best Books I Read During the Summer of 2016

3.  Gray Widow’s Walk by Dan Jolley

  • I know, I know.  This one doesn’t qualify for my summer reading list.  But that’s not what this list is about, so get over it.  I also participated in some blog tours this summer, and that’s how I heard about this book.  Gray Widow’s Walk was scary and fascinating, has a great cast of characters, and brings up some important societal questions.  I’m excited for the second book in this trilogy to come out!

 

2.  The Warrior’s Apprentice by Lois McMaster Bujold

  • A comedy of errors in space.  What more could I even ask for?  I’m looking forward to diving into the rest of the Vorkosigan Saga.

 

1.  Speaker for the Dead by Orson Scott Card

  • This blew me away and touched me in a way that I wasn’t expecting.  So much so that I ugly-cried.  For a long time.  Hands down, this is now my favorite book of all time.

 

Now that Summer Reading is over, I can sell some of the books I don’t want to keep and buy some more books (except that my loving husband has bought me multiple books this summer…).  And I can’t wait to browse the library again!

Leave a Reply

