Myths and Legends: My next project(s)

I let you know a couple of weeks ago that I finished Bombshell.  And let me tell you, getting through that final proofread was HARD.  I just wanted to be done so I could work on my next project that’s been stewing in my brain for a long time.  (It was also hard because my computer crashed in the middle of it, and while I had everything backed up, I was still without a computer for a few days while Apple fixed the problem.)

Friends, I am QUITE excited to announce what I’ll be working on for the foreseeable future: The Legend of Elliot Major.

If you’ve creeped around my site (I love you for that!) then you know that Elliot Major has been a work-in-progress of mine for a while.  Here’s the deal.

I wrote most of The Legend of Elliot Major during NaNoWriMo 2015.  I used it to take a break from Bombshell while my writer’s group looked at that.  But during November I got their feedback, so as soon as NaNo was over, I went right back to Bombshell and haven’t looked at Elliot since.

Now that Bombshell is done, I’m excited to finish the first draft of Elliot Major.  I have some big things I’d like to add to it, and I still need to write the last few scenes – which is funny because those scenes were the first thoughts I had about this story years and years ago.  They’ve stuck with me for a long time, and I’m excited to finally get them down on paper.

During NaNo, I also realized that – for the first time in my novel-writing life – THERE’S A SEQUEL.  That’s right, folks.  Elliot Major is the first book in a series, and that absolutely scares me to death.

Maybe when I’m done writing and revising and re-writing Elliot, I’ll decide that there aren’t actually sequels to it.  But for now, in my mind, The Legend of Elliot Major will be followed by a myth… that’s all I’m going to say for now.

I’ll keep you updated on both of these projects as I can.  Promise.

Leave a Reply

