Camp NaNo Wrap-Up and Exciting News!

Hey all.

So between book reviews, Camp NaNoWriMo, and crazy life events, I haven’t done a great job of keeping you all informed on exactly where I am in the whole writing process.  Well, consider that remedied.

As you may know, I finished my first draft of Bombshell nearly a year ago – crazy!  I made some small changes, sent it off to my writer’s group and got feedback.  Then I worked on revising.  Then the April session of Camp NaNoWriMo happened, so I did more revising.  Then I got some more feedback.  Then did some revising.  Then the July session of Camp NaNoWrimo happened, and while I didn’t technically win (I was about 3 hours short of my revising goal – I was also out of town for a funeral for the last 5 days of the month), I think I actually won BIG TIME.

Friends and people who may just be joining us for the first time (I consider you potential friends): BOMBSHELL IS DONE*.

I want that to sink in deeply – not just for you but for me too.  I made some huge strides during July, fixing some plot issues, adding depth and dimension to characters, changing the narration to make better sense.  Then I read draft 4, then I re-read it, then I re-read it once more for a final proofread.  So as of 8/8/2016, I’m calling it done*.

(Why the *?  Because I could just keep working and working and working.  But at some point, I gotta say enough’s enough and decide on next steps.)

So what’s next?  Two things:

  1.  On August 10, 2016 – it was a Wednesday – I sent my very first query letters to literary agents.  WHAT?  I know, right.  Between each draft of Bombshell, I wanted to give myself time to digest a bit, and I spent a lot of that time researching agents, writing my synopsis (UGH), and writing a query letter (I’ll give you details on some of that in a future post).  So now, I’m just waiting.
  2.  I’m writing again!  I’ve been revising and editing Bombshell pretty consistently since September – minus November when I did NaNoWriMo again (that’s when my writer’s group had it the first time) – and I’m very much craving writing new stuff.  I may take a few days off to rest my brain, but I some new material that I’m excited to get down on paper soon.

Obviously, I’ll keep posted about both of these things as they unfold.  Thanks for being along for the ride 🙂

Leave a Reply

