Review: The Warrior’s Apprentice

Well, the list of books that I want to read just got significantly longer.. oops.

Two and a half years ago, a good friend gave me Young Miles by Lois McMaster Bujold; it contained three stories from the Vorkosigan Saga: The Warrior’s Apprentice, “The Mountains of Mourning”, and The Vor Game.  All of these took place when Miles Vorkosigan was young – hence the name.  Anyway, I finally got around to starting it, and let me tell you – I’m hooked.

The Warrior’s Apprentice was so fun!  There were countless times that I laughed out loud while reading – Bujold’s humor was so witty and clever, and I very much enjoyed it.  Not only were the one-liners and inner monologues funny, but Miles’ whole situation was humorous.  Though this was so much more than a comedy- it was a sci-fi adventure with just the right amount of humor sprinkled in.

Humor sprinkles weren’t the only thing adorning this work either – The Warrior’s Apprentice dealt with some pretty serious topics, too: justice, war crimes, sexual assault, political sabotage, being dishonest for profit, classism, and many more.  And I thought Bujold did a lovely job of balancing all that to make it a substantial, enjoyable read.  Oh, and no surprise here: I cried multiple times and am not ashamed of that.

As you’ve probably heard if you’ve been around the blog for any time at all, I love space, but really, with a story like The Warrior’s Apprentice, being set in space was just a bonus.  I would’ve loved it no matter where it took place.

The Vorkosigan Saga has a LOT in it – novels, novellas, short stories.  But this is a world I definitely want to spend more time in.  So of course I’ll be reading “The Mountains of Mourning” and The Vor Game soon.

If you like science fiction, if you like space, if you funny characters, if you like comedies of errors, if you like politics, if you like kingdoms with knights and lords and ladies and counts, or if you haven’t really tried science fiction but are looking for an easy entrance to the genre, give The Warrior’s Apprentice a chance.  It’s a gem.

Leave a Reply

