Review: Silver Tongue

I’m back from vacation!  Yay!  I’ll let you know soon about what I did (and didn’t do!) while away from my regular life, but first I want to tell you all about the book I finished a few days ago.

**Summer reading, book 4**

I discovered AshleyRose Sullivan a few years ago through her My Year of Star Trek blog.  Seriously, she watched every minute of Star Trek (both TV series and movies) in a year and blogged about it so I was instantly a big fan of hers.  Through reading her blog, I found out that she had two books coming out, and I immediately got my hands on Awesome Jones.  Such a fun read!  (Also rumor has it that AshleyRose is working on polishing the Awesome Jones sequel.  AHHHHHH!)

Anyway, when Silver Tongue came out I ordered it but didn’t get around to reading it until last week.  Let me tell you about it.

Silver Tongue is an alternate history book – that’s a genre that I’m not super familiar with and that I was kind of skeptical of.  Not sure why.  I just was.  I don’t mind historical fiction and have even written some of it, but alternate history just didn’t feel like my kind of thing.

Let me tell you – if other AH books are like this one, SIGN ME UP.  I was so captivated by the world: set in 1839 North America, but in Silver Tongue, the colonies lost the Revolutionary War.  AshleyRose’s re-imagining of North America after that was so creative and believable!  I loved it!

I’m a big fan of the characters: 3 friends, all unique and endearing and frustrating  (so realistic in that way) are growing up in Nouvelle France, which geographically isn’t too far from where I actually grew up.  The friendships and romantic relationships that they have are messy and life-like.  Add experiencing each other’s dreams to the mix, and they just get more complicated.

The book opens with quite the bang, then Claire, Phileas, and Sam set off to solve the mystery and seek justice.  It was fast-paced and super hard to put down – so glad I read it during vacation 🙂  I often felt what the characters were feeling – a roller coaster of both the good and the bad.

So, if you like alternate history, if you like complicated relationships, if you like just a touch of fantasy, or if you like a good mystery, check out Silver Tongue.  I can’t wait for the sequel!

Leave a Reply

