Review: The Martian Chronicles

Throughout the summer, I’ll only be reading books that I own that I’ve never read.  While this is all fine and dandy and a great way to read books that I’ve intended to read but haven’t – usually due to biting off more than I can chew – what about those books that I’ve wanted to read that I don’t own?  Do they have to wait till September?

Enter: audiobooks.

You may think that’s cheating, but I call that a loophole.  I made the rules, and I say it’s fine.  Whatever.

This past week, I listened to The Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury.  And I was kind of disappointed.  Not because it wasn’t good.  But because it wasn’t what I was expecting.  And that’s kind of my fault.

I guess I didn’t realize that The Martian Chronicles was essentially a short story collection.  Don’t ask me where I’ve been.  And this wasn’t a bad thing given that I’ve been trying to study short stories and how they’re different from long form.

Anyway.  The Martian Chronicles was pretty good.  I was hoping for more space exploration, more trying to figure out how to live on a different planet, and more details on martians themselves.  Instead, I got a look into human nature.  Bradbury did an amazing job and putting humans in different stressful situations and imagining what would happen.  It was thought-provoking.  And the writing was beautiful and very, very Bradbury.

So, yeah.  I don’t have much else to say about this one.  No characters really stood out to me.  A few of the stories were very compelling – particularly one that dealt with trying to bring religion to the martians.  The things we did learn about martians were fascinating – I desperately wanted more.

I’d recommend The Martian Chronicles to you if you like space/other planets, aliens, psychology, science fiction, or Ray Bradbury.

Have you read The Martian Chronicles already?  What did you think?

Leave a Reply

