Review: Ender’s Game

I guess this should technically go into the “What I’m Listening To” category, but I don’t have one of those..

The first time I read Ender’s Game was in junior high, and I LOVED it.  I had just discovered science fiction, so I absolutely ate it up.  I didn’t read any of the sequels, but it’s always stuck with me.

Speaker for the Dead (the sequel to Ender’s Game) is on my summer reading list this summer (thanks to my husband for owning it!), so I decided to get a refresher on the story.  I checked out the Ender’s Game audiobook from the library so I could listen to it in the car and not add another book to my “To Read in May” list.

I thoroughly enjoyed listening to Ender’s Game!  It was engaging, fascinating, and thought-provoking.  And even though I’d read it before, the twists at the end kind of threw me.  What happens in Ender’s Game is sad, but it’s also scary because I COULD TOTALLY SEE SOMETHING LIKE THIS HAPPENING IN OUR WORLD TODAY.  I sure hope it doesn’t, but it doesn’t feel that far-fetched, which I think makes it great science fiction.  Maybe it seemed farther-fetched in the 80’s when Orson Scott Card wrote it, but I’m not sure.

Technology-wise, we’re closer to what they have in the book, for sure.  But I’d like to think – I HOPE – that we’re farther from being capable of some of the decisions that they make as a group.  I don’t want to go into detail because I don’t want to spoil it if you haven’t read it.  But I hope that we are humans are learning to accept those who are “other”, those who aren’t like us, rather than villianizing them.

Anyway, I think Ender Wiggin is a great character, and many of the other characters are incredibly complex.  I love how Orson Scott Card looks at human nature by putting children in different, unusual situations.  Very Lord of the Flies-esque in that regard.

There’s so much more I could say about this book, but I want you to experience it on your own.  So, if you like space, if you like psychology, if you like thought-provoking worlds, if you like thinking about how people interact with those who are “other” – read Ender’s Game.  It’s a good one.

Leave a Reply

