Camp NaNo: April 2016 – Wrap Up

Camp NaNoWriMo is over.  5 days later, and I still have a bit of a writing hangover.

I spent the month of April working on revising my first draft of Bombshell, and that was quite the undertaking.  I read through my manuscript multiple times, cuts scenes, netted an additional 15,000 words, re-worked characters, and on and on and on.

And bof, I still have so much to do.  But you can read about more ofd my process and what I still have to do in my previous posts.  Here, I’d like to take some time to look at my first Camp NaNo experience as a whole.

First, I love that you get to make your own goal.  You can do the traditional 50,000 word novel a la NaNoWriMo proper, OR you can revise, write poetry, write a screenplay, write non-fiction, or write short stories – all while making you own word goal.  I like this.

However, most of the content and encouragement and even the metric for “winning” Camp surrounded that word goal.  NaNoWriMo’s thing is to just get words on the page.  Put aside your inner editor, and write, write, write.  I couldn’t do that… my goal was to REVISE.  So I felt like all the extras on Camp’s website (pep talks, tips, etc) weren’t very helpful.  I also was a bit at a loss as to how to validate my word count.  This is a small thing but still.

Another difference between Camp and November’s NaNo is the cabin.  During Camp, you’re assigned to a virtual cabin with 11ish other people to chat, encourage one another, share struggles.  I’ve heard that cabins can be awesome, but I know it depends on the people.  My cabin was unresponsive and not encouraging for the most part.  So I was disappointed (but am totally willing to give it another shot because I need to gather more data before I write off Camp cabins).

On a more personal note, this is the first time that I’ve revised anything this long.  It’s kind of overwhelming, but I’m just taking it a day at a time.  Overall, I really enjoyed Camp NaNo – it was a great motivation to work hard, and I liked having an attainable goal when revising feels like a never-ending process.  I worked my butt off in April and made good progress, but like I said, I still have a lot more work to do.  Revising Bombshell every day (except 2!) tired me out, so I’m taking a mini-break.

But I’m not just sitting on my hands doing nothing.  I’m reading, AND I’m still writing – I’ve been working on a couple short stories this week!  I’ll share more on that in my next post.  Promise.

Leave a Reply

