Review: Sunshine

I borrowed Sunshine by Robin McKinley from a friend a long time ago.  I had decided to read as many fantasy books as I could during the summer, and when my friend caught wind of that, she loaded me up with two paper bags full of her favorites.  I read many of them (though many were just book 1 of a series.. so I got side-tracked by books 2, 3, 4, etc.).  I eventually got burnt out on fantasy but have kept those borrowed books that I have yet to read in my to-be-read pile.

Then a few weeks ago, a different friend mentioned Sunshine and how good it was, so I decided to give it a shot.

Woah.

I don’t really like vampires.  I’m not really a fantasy fan (which was why I had Fantasy Summer.. I wanted to give it a shot).  But goodness gracious, I LOVED Sunshine.

The story was captivating and entertaining.  The writing was very good (despite some slow parts), and even though it was about vampires, I really cared what happened.  I liked the characters, but I didn’t love them – that made them more realistic in my mind.  The book wasn’t oozing with sex, which I appreciated.

I have a lot I could say about it, but basically, Robin McKinley built a very, VERY believable IMG_20160430_195502world.  Seriously, her world-building was out of this word.  She created a different magic system, a different history of a world that could have been ours.. she even created slang for this world and used it consistently throughout the story.

If you want insight into great world-building, read Sunshine.  If you like fantasy, read Sunshine.  If you like baking, read Sunshine.  Seriously, the main character bakes cinnamon rolls and other goodies all the time.  So after finishing the book, I baked up some delicious cinnamon bread.  Maybe I’ll post the recipe soon.

Anyway, this is definitely a book I’ll be recommending to a lot of people.

One thought on “Review: Sunshine

Leave a Reply

