Camp NaNo: April 2016 – Update #4

You guys!  I finally made some progress in editing Bombshell!  Now that the work crazy is over and it’s back to just work normal, I’ve been able to find some time to actually dive into editing.  Here’s what I’ve been up to:

  • Changing some major plot details, like where two of the fugitives go when they’re on the run from the cops or who’s car is used in the heist scene (which affects how the authorities respond).
  • Changing some worldbuilding stuff, like how the economic system of my world works, the intricacies of gang tattoos, and what the cops are like.
  • Making things bigger and more weighty.  My writer’s group told me that my character’s emotions were very wishy-washy.  They wanted to see more panic, more anger, more resentment – not just for her but for everyone.
  • Adding flashback scenes.  One of the big goals of my main character is to free someone she cares about from prison.  Again, my writer’s group said that they didn’t really care about him because they didn’t know him.  My main character tells us what she thinks about him, but they wanted to see him in action.  Cue some flashback dreams (which work perfectly with my main character’s insomnia!).

So those are the big things I’ve been up to.  I feel like the past 3 days I’ve actually hit my stride – I’m excited!  The month’s half over, and I’m encouraged by what I have done so far.  There’s a lot more work to do before I send it out to some beta readers.

Which reminds me: how do you choose beta readers?  What kind of person are you looking for?  What specific questions do you ask of them?

 

Stats (as of 4/15):

13,373 of 30,000

Leave a Reply

