Camp NaNo: April 2016 – Update #3

Hey y’all!

We’re almost to the halfway mark of Camp NaNoWriMo, and let me just say.. it’s been a bit of a rollercoaster for me.  Actually, that might be too dramatic.  It’s been more like.. being in a small boat on a windy lake.  The up’s and down’s are mostly gentle, but you can definitely feel them.

Anyway, work has been CRAZY for me the past week, which from what I hear has been pretty par for the course for people lately.  My brand of work crazy involves two conferences organized and run by my places of employment.  I don’t know how they managed to be the same week, but they were.  NEVER AGAIN, PLEASE.

I DID manage to write every day, even if was just 95 words (yesterday).  The problem is, though, that I’m EDITING for Camp NaNo.  I’ve participated in NaNoWriMo three times in the past, and their thing is to write 50,000 words in a month – basically just pump out a first draft as quickly as possible, setting aside your inner editor.  The goal is just shy of 1,700 words per day, which for me is somewhere between an hour and.. well, um, that depends on how distracted I am.

IMG_20160412_111158_062Editing is a WHOLE different ballgame, though.  I can’t just sit down and type out a quick 800 words that will be edited later to keep my plot going.  This IS editing.  So while in the past, I was able to keep up with NaNoWriMo despite busy work days, I’m having problems finding big chunks of time needed to think through edits – especially the big plot edits.

That’s what’s on my mind today.  I’m hoping now that the conferences are over, I can set aside time to wrap my head around what’s going on.  Maybe even this afternoon!

How do YOU find time to edit?  (Sorry for the plethora of caps lock in this post.. KINDA.)

 

Stats (as of 4/11):

8,236 of 30,00

Leave a Reply

