In the Labyrinth of Drakes – EEEE!

Have you read A Natural History of Dragons?  No?  Then go do it right now!

Sorry for the lack of suave intro, but I have problems keeping it cool when talking about Marie Brennan’s Memoirs of Lady Trent.  (I might have problems keeping it cool most of the time.)

A Natural History of Dragons and the books that follow – The Tropic of Serpents and The Voyage of the Basilisk – are incredible.  They’re funny and fascinating and moving and so readable.  And they contains beautiful drawings of dragons.

These are the memoirs of the fictional Lady Trent on her journey of being a dragon naturalist.  Definitely not a profession I’d choose, but she’s so good at it.  Lady Trent is a feisty female in a time and place where that wasn’t a good thing.  She’s smart, independent, loving, and lovable.  I highly recommend these books to most people, which doesn’t happen often.  I more so prefer recommending certain books to certain people since everyone’s tastes are different.

Anyway, onward to the celebration because the fourth book, In the Labyrinth of the Drakes, comes out TODAY.  I’ve been waiting for this for months!

While I won’t get to read it for a while (due to Camp NaNo and not owning the book yet), you better believe I’m going to read it soon.  And of course, I’ll be reviewing it as well.

 

Love.

Leave a Reply

