Camp NaNo has Begun

It’s April 1st, and that means the April 2016 session of Camp NaNoWriMo has begun!  I’ve never revised a novel-length work before, so I’m feeling a bit intimidated and overwhelmed to get started.

I’ve been reading some articles on revising (links to some of my favorites are shared below), and based on what I’ve read as well as how I’m feeling about my first draft, I’ve come up with a plan.

Step 1: Go through all of the comments from my writer’s group and categorize each one.  Some are about the plot; some are grammatical corrections.  I’m hoping to divide them into categories based on what issue they’re addressing.  I’ll also divide them by how much I agree with them: definitely implement, decide later, or discard.

Step 2: Make a list of the new scenes I need to write.  I just finished doing my first read-through since finishing my first draft in September.  In the margins of my first draft, I made notes on a few scenes that need to be written (mostly because things I referenced in later chapters hadn’t actually happened in previous chapters… oops).  So based on those notes and the comments from my WG, I’ll make a list of new scenes that need to be written.

Step 3: Work on the big things.  This is a pretty vague step, but it mostly involves working on plot issues, writing new scenes, fixing glaring character issues.  I’ll know more once I dive into those notes and comments.

Step 4: Work on the smaller things.  Again, a vague step, but I want to fix grammar issues, solve consistency issues (Is Hanes 27 or 29?  According to my first draft, he’s BOTH), and flesh out/trim down/clean up some of my writing AFTER I deal with bigger issues like plot.

So that’s my plan for now.  I’ll keep you updated on how it goes!

 

Love.

 

P.S

Here are some articles on revision that I’ve found helpful:

7-Step Revision Process

A Road Map for Revising your Novel

Self-Editing for Fiction Writers

Leave a Reply

