Let the Revising Begin: Camp NaNoWriMo

Have you ever heard of National Novel Writing Month?  Every November thousands of writers all over the world sign up to write 50,000 words in 30 days.  Pretty intense, huh?  I’ve done it 3 times (and finished 2 times!), but this year, I’m trying Camp NaNoWriMo for the first time.  I’m both sad (writing retreats are cool!) and thankful (so much more accessible) that it’s not a “real” camp.

I’d never even heard of it (that I can remember) until this past summer – I missed it by a few weeks, though.  Basically, it’s very similar to NaNo: you do it on your own, writing whatever you want and interacting with the online community as much as you want.  However, Camp is different in that you can make your own goal.  Rather than shooting for 50,000 words, you can make your own word count goal.  Or (and this is my favorite part) you can have a different writing goal, like revising a manuscript or writing poetry or a screenplay.  You can choose to write nonfiction too (Nano’s schtick is writing a novel in a month, so technically it’s supposed to be fiction).  There are two sessions: one in April and one in July.  Check out more info here.

So.  I’ve signed up for the April session of Camp Nano, and I’ll be…. (drumroll please)…

REVISING BOMBSHELL!

What is Bombshell, you ask?  It’s a novel that I wrote last year.  I believe I started it in June and finished the first draft in September – then I rested up and wrote The Legend of Elliot Major for Nano in November.  I shared the first draft with my writers’ group and have received feedback.  Giddy up.

So, starting April 1st, I’ll be working on revising Bombshell, and I would love to share how that goes with you!  Be forewarned – the apocalypse is coming.  (Don’t worry: it’s not that kind of dystopian novel).

 

Love.

One thought on “Let the Revising Begin: Camp NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

