Review: The Martian

I finished reading The Martian by Andy Weir a few days ago.  I know, I know, I’m a bit behind the times on this.

My good friend, Sarah, recommended it to me last April.  She hadn’t read it yet, but her husband had, and he loved it.  Sarah knows I like space, so naturally, she mentioned the book to me and said that the movie would be coming out soon.  Naturally, I hadn’t heard any of that because I live under a rock.

Moving on: I finally read it because my fiancé, Chris, read it and really liked it.  He too knows how much I like space, and I agreed to see the movie with him once I’d read the book.  I had to get my butt in gear because the local theater that plays movies for cheap before they come out on DVD was showing The Martian.  So Chris checked it out for me (side note: he works at Half Price Books and can check things out from there – cool, right?), and I read it.

REALLY moving on: I finished reading The Martian.  And I REALLY liked it.  It was far funnier than I thought it’d be, though it wasn’t too funny.  I thought Weir found a great balance of humor and seriousness.  There were some incredibly tense moments and some incredibly heartbreaking moments.  I laughed out loud while reading it, and surprisingly, I cried at times as well.  I quickly became endeared to the main character, Mark Watney, as well as some of the minor characters – especially Mindy Park.  She’s muh girl.

There were a few things that I wasn’t a fan of: I thought that Watney was a bit flat at times.  Part of it was the style of writing – the story is told as Watney’s log entries, so naturally, the only things we’ll know about him are self-reported.  So his lack of intense emotional struggle was believable in that sense.

Other than that, though, it was good.  The pacing was pretty consistent, and while there was a lot of science and math talk, it was very accessible.  I’d recommend it to most friends.

 

Love.

Leave a Reply

